Climate Futures Action Explorations

Climate Futures Action Explorations

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Location

Online event

The Solarpunk Storytelling Showcase (XR Wordsmiths) series

About this event

The climate crisis is also a crisis of imagination - we are already well-acquainted with our doomed future of ecological degradation and destruction of our current status quo, but the very act of imagining a positive alternative is the vital first step towards making it a reality. In this series, hosted by Dandelion Spaces, different facilitators will work with climate fiction / solarpunk stories in combination with drama / action methods like Sociodrama, Playback Theater, Theater of the Oppressed, or Social Presencing Theater.

By using climate fiction/ solarpunk stories, we want to spread positive images of climate futures and spark hope and courage for more (collective) action to tackle the climate crisis. We will collaborate with XR Wordsmiths and bring winning stories of their Solarpunk Storytelling Showcase to life.

By combining solarpunk stories with action methods, we want to create deep emotional and physical virtual experiences around positive climate futures with people from around the globe. We want to bring people, communities and movements closer together.

You can read more about our intentions as well as reviews of session 1, session 2 and session 4.

Upcoming sessions

Session 6: June 28

15.00 - 17.00 CEST / 18.30 - 20.30 Indian Standard Time / 14.00 - 16.00 BST

This session will be facilitated by Chetna Mehrotra and Roshan Karkera from Rangbhumi Applied Theater Organisation(India). Once again, we will explore a solarpunk story using applied theater methods. More about Chetna, Roshan and Rangbhumi (Facebook, Instagram, Youtube).

Past sessions

Session 5: June 9

20.00 - 22.00 CEST / 19.00 - 21.00 GMT+1 (BST)

This session will be facilitated by Robyn Hambrook. Robyn is a clown activist/ political clown/ performer/ director/ teacher/... Together with Robyn, we will explore a solarpunk story using clowning and methodologies used into her research exploring the intersection of clowning, politics and activism. More about Robyn on Facebook and Instagram. We used the solarpunk story "Wall of Flowers".

Session 4: April 26

19.30 - 21.30 CEST / 18.30 - 20.30 GMT+1 (BST)

This session will be facilitated by Mick Haining. Mick is part of the XR Wordsmiths crew. He will use his experience in participatory drama inspired by Dorothy Heathcote. Together with Mick, we will immerse into the story "The Tides Rolled In" by Chris Muscato.

Session 3: April 19

19.30 - 21.30 CEST / 18.30 - 20.30 GMT+1 (BST)

This session will be facilitated by Summer Banks. Summer will share her experience in Improv to explore the Solarpunk story: Singer of Seeds.

Session 2: Feb 25

19.00 - 21.00 CET / 18.00 - 20.00 GMT

This session will be in partnership with iSCAN (international Sociodrama & Creative Action Network). Ron Wiener and Irina Stefanescu will facilitate a sociodrama based on "Where Giants Will Stand" by Spencer R. Scott. More about sociodrama.

Session 1: Feb 10

19.30 - 21.30 CET / 18.30 - 20.30 GMT

This session will be facilitated by Noa Leibu. Together with Story Lane Playback Theater, she will play back our experiences with and around the story "Gabby´s First Kiss" by Joe Tankersley. More about Playback Theater.

Session 0: Jan 15

This prototyping session was facilitated by Uri Noy-Meyr (Imaginaction). He worked with Adam Marx’s story “The Park” and combined the techniques of Augusto Boal’s Newspaper Theater (Theater of the Oppressed) with those of Social Presencing Theater.

Share with friends

Save This Event

Event Saved